Skip to main content

Megadeth unveil 'We'll Be Back,' the raging first single from forthcoming 'The Sick, The Dying… And The Dead!' record

'Everything that we needed on this record is right in its place,' says bandleader Dave Mustaine

Megadeth have unveiled the first single, “We’ll Be Back,” from their long-awaited forthcoming album, The Sick, The Dying… And The Dead! The ferocious track is accompanied by "We'll Be Back: Chapter I", an “action-packed” short film chronicling the origins of Megadeth’s mascot, Vic Rattlehead.

You can watch it above.

The Sick, the Dying... And the Dead!, comes on the heels of Dave Mustaine's battle with throat cancer and, more recently, the ouster of original bassist David Ellefson. It’s also their first record in six years, since 2016’s Dystopia. The album was produced by Dave Mustaine and Chris Rakestraw and recorded at Mustaine's home studio in Nashville, Tennessee. Alongside guitarist Kiko Loureiro and drummer Dirk Verbeuren, the band was rounded out in the studio by bassist Steve DiGiorgio, who stepped in to replace Ellefson. The bassist role has now been permanently filled by Megadeth alumnus James LoMenzo. Guests artists include Ice-T and Sammy Hagar.

"For the first time in a long time, everything that we needed on this record is right in its place," Mustaine said about The Sick, the Dying... And the Dead! "I can't wait for the public to get hold of this!"

You can check out the cover art and track list below.

Megadeth - The Sick the dying and the dead

The Sick, The Dying… And The Dead! track list:

01. The Sick, The Dying… And The Dead!

02. Life In Hell

03. Night Stalkers (w/ Ice-T)

04. Dogs of Chernobyl

05. Sacrifice

06. Junkie

07. Psychopathy

08. Killing Time

09. Soldier On!

10. Célebutante

11. Mission to Mars

12. We'll Be Back

13. Police Truck (Dead Kennedys cover)

14. This Planet's On Fire (Burn In Hell) (Sammy Hagar cover) (w/ Sammy Hagar)