Skip to main content

Metallica share brand-new single, 'Lux Æterna,' detail 11th studio album, '72 Seasons'

The 12-track collection is out in April 2023

Rejoice, metal fans, because apparently, it’s Metallica Monday: The metal legends have surpise-announced a brand-new album, 72 Seasons, as well as shared the first single, "Lux Æterna."

You can check out the official video above.

Metallica’s first album since 2016's Hardwired... to Self-Destruct, the 12-track, 77-minute effort was produced by Greg Fidelman alongside James Hetfield and Lars Ulrich.

Said Hetfield about the concept behind the album’s title, "72 seasons. The first 18 years of our lives that form our true or false selves. The concept that we were told 'who we are' by our parents. A possible pigeonholing around what kind of personality we are. I think the most interesting part of this is the continued study of those core beliefs and how it affects our perception of the world today. Much of our adult experience is reenactment or reaction to these childhood experiences. Prisoners of childhood or breaking free of those bondages we carry."

72 Seasons is out April 14, 2023 via the band's own Blackened Recordings. You can view the cover art and track list below, and pre-order on CD and 2LP in our shop.


72 Seasons track list:

72 Seasons
Shadows Follow
Screaming Suicide
Sleepwalk My Life Away
You Must Burn!
Lux Æterna
Crown of Barbed Wire
Chasing Light
If Darkness Had a Son
Too Far Gone?
Room of Mirrors